Chinese Mahjong 88 Points


Competition Mahjong, also known as Guóbiāo Májiàng (simplified Chinese: 国标麻将, National Standard Mahjong), is an international standard of rules and scoring criteria for mahjong founded by the All-China Sports Federation in July 1998 and supported by some mahjong societies, mostly in Asia. Many tournaments have adopted this standard and some mahjong societies exclusively use this scoring system for all play. It is characterised by dozens of possible combinations and a rather complex and inventive set of patterns. In effect, it mixes the scoring rules of several different mahjong variations. The game play is otherwise quite similar to Old Hong Kong Mahjong.

Main features:
•There are exactly 4 hands for each prevailing wind, because the game wind always changes after each round of 4 hands. Thus one match consists of exactly 16 hands.
•Points called «fan» (番) are given according to factors such as the tiles a player has or how complete a player’s hand is. Any player can declare a winning hand only if he/she has 8 or more points with his/her hand’s completion.
•The winner of a hand receives points from the other 3 players as follows:
•If the winner completes the x-points hand with his/her draw of a tile, he/she receives (8+x) points from each of the other three players.
•If the winner completes the x-points hand with a tile discarded by another player, he/she receives (8+x) points from the player having discarded the tile, and 8 points from each of the other two players.
•There are no restrictions on completing a hand using discarded tiles. (Other rules have such restrictions.)
•Positions of seats are changed every 4 hands—i.e., at the beginning of each new prevailing wind.
•When a closed quad (暗槓, àngàng) is obtained, all four tiles are placed faced down in front of the player and are not revealed until the end of the hand.
•There is no dead wall.

88 points

1.Big four winds
2.Big three dragons
3.All green
4.Nine gates
5.Four quads
6.Chained seven pairs
7.Thirteen orphans

64 points

8.All terminals
9.Little four winds
10.Little three dragons
11.All honors
12.All closed triplets
13.Twin edge sequences plus center pair

48 points

14.Four same sequences
15.Four step triplets

32 points

16.Four step sequences
17.Three quads
18.All terminals or honors

24 points

19.Seven pairs
20.Seven honors and knitted
21.All even
22.One suit only
23.Three same sequences
24.Three step triplets
25.Large three only
26.Medium three only
27.Small three only

16 points

28.One suit through
29.Three suits edge sequences plus center pair
30.Three step sequences
31.Number 5 in each set
32.Three suits triplets
33.Three closed triplets

12 points

34.Honors and knitted
35.Knitted through
36.More than five
37.Less than five
38.Three winds

8 points

39.Three suits through
40.Symmetric tiles only
41.Three suits sequences
42.Three suits step triplets
43.Avoid points
44.Last drawn tile
45.Last discarded tile
46.Supplemental tile of melding quad
47.Appended tile to melded triplet

6 points

48.All triplets
49.One suit plus honors
50.Three suits step sequences
51.Five types
52.Others’ tiles in each set
53.Two closed quad
54.Two dragon triplets

4 points

55.Terminals or honors in each set
56.Self tiles only
57.Two open quads
58.Last tile other than revealed

2 points

59.Dragon triplet
60.Prevailing wind triplet
61.Game wind triplet
62.No melding
63.Simple sequence hand
64.Four tiles collection
65.Two suits triplets
66.Two closed triplets
67.Closed quad
68.All simples

1 point

69.Two same sequences
70.Two suits sequences
71.Chain six
72.Edge sequences pair
73.Terminal or non-special wind triplet
74.Open quad
75.Lack of one suit
76.No honor
77.One tile wait for a edge sequence
78.One tile wait for a holed sequence
79.One tile wait for a pair
81.Completion by draw
81.Flower tile